BMW i4 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I fully charged my i4 for the first time and it showed a range of 302 miles which is rather less than the WLTP figure.
I'm new to electric cars and wonder if this is normal

·
Registered
68 Posts
I have absolutely no idea, but was wondering if EVs are like ICE in that once you reach Empty on the fuel gauge you still have at least another gallon or so left in the tank, i.e. another 20-30 miles in it. I am frequently known to run on fumes!:D

• Haha
Reactions: Lord

·
Registered
i4 M Sport ordered
55 Posts
I fully charged my i4 for the first time and it showed a range of 302 miles which is rather less than the WLTP figure.
WLTP is a mix of city and highway driving in ideal conditions (range will be significantly effected by the current colder weather). It’s almost always higher than the real world figures. The US EPA range is actually a little more realistic.
That said, over time the range estimate should adapt more to your driving style, so it may increase if you do mostly city/suburban driving.

·
Registered
171 Posts

Yes. Different companies have different approaches to this topic.

Tesla always displays the maximum possible range.
BMW learns from the driver and displays expected range based on driver's past style of driving.

I actually prefer Tesla's approach.

·
Registered
Kona EV, 335i convertible, K1600b mc
1,313 Posts
I have absolutely no idea, but was wondering if EVs are like ICE in that once you reach Empty on the fuel gauge you still have at least another gallon or so left in the tank, i.e. another 20-30 miles in it. I am frequently known to run on fumes!:D
I've been known to run on fumes in the past but I've learnt with an EV, a change in cold Temps and wind, etc..can drop that range at the bottom real quick.

·
Registered
415 Posts