BMW i4 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
i4 M50 18" 858 M San Remo Green
2,250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What will happen if you do this with your i4?
Car Land vehicle Vehicle Tire Hood

• Wow
Reactions: Elle BMW

·
Registered
2021 Mach E (i4 M50 on order)
55 Posts
I’m not an automotive engineer, but I know enough about the design to understand that the battery packs have sealant to prevent water intrusion, as do the HV connectors. I think these EVs are designed for minor and brief inundation, like driving through a road with 1-1.5 feet of standing water. I’d be more worried if the water level were high enough to flood the components under the hood, where you have the LV battery, HV battery coolant pumps, and other components that aren’t as well protected.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I worked for an auto supplier in undergrad, and have a lot of friends in the industry now, the battery pack should be sealed enough for driving like this for short periods of time, it's not going to be designed for long term soaking.

But Honestly, an EV will probably be better as I'm less worried about the battery seals (which you'd want to maintain a constant low humidity inside anyway), than flooding an engine air intake.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Provided we’re not talking modified Jeep’s, EV will do better than an ICE car. Good luck finding exposed/non sealed high Voltage wires in an I4.

The second that ICE exhaust goes under water you’re done. Same for the air intake.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Plenty of videos of Tesla's going through high water. No intakes to suck water into, etc. I wouldn't want to do it myself, but the battery packs and wiring should be sealed well.

·
Registered
M50, Sapphire black, Tacora red leather, Piano black trim, Comfort Pack, full Technology Plus Pack
195 Posts
What the hell? Is the Corvette nuclear powered or something?

·
Registered
28 Posts
The owners handbook for the i4 is pretty clear about driving though floods page 297 Driving through water states