BMW i4 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
BMW i4 eDrive40 - 08/2022 - Tanzanite Blue - Sensatec Cognac
274 Posts
Nope, it's working fine for me without the need of a reset. I just had to update the in-car apps and enable the tracking of trips in the options.

·
Registered
BMW i4 eDrive40 - 08/2022 - Tanzanite Blue - Sensatec Cognac
274 Posts
Why am I not surprised… between this and the other issue I’m having with the Digital assistant not working properly methinks it’s time BMW replaced the unit.
I think your unit needs a factory reset. It's not the first time I've heard of various strange malfunctions. Especially if the dealer installed a SW upgrade but neglected to do a SW factory reset.

That means you have to do all settings from scratch (which is probably why the dealer doesn't want to do this), but it seems to be the right thing to do after any major update (also, as a SW developer, I have to say this is poor SW design by BMW's engineers!)

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I think your unit needs a factory reset. It's not the first time I've heard of various strange malfunctions. Especially when the dealer installed an SW upgrade but neglected to do a SW factory reset.

That means you have to do all settings from scratch (which is probably why the dealer doesn't want to do this), but it seems to be the right thing to do after any major update (also, as a SW developer, I have to say this is poor SW design by BMW's engineers!)
Thanks @Grestorn They actually had it in the workshop ten days ago to do just that (allegedly!) That fixed an problem whereby the car was not receiving map instructions from the app, but the voice command issue persisted.

I’m back with them again tomorrow afternoon so will report back after that! 🫡

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
So, apologies to the many thousands waiting on news about this. Got it sorted!